Latest News

Awards Evening 2014

Awards Evening 2014 was a huge success. One parent commented, “It really shows how many different possibilities are open to all the students and what they can do with some effort and determination. They really do have the opportunity at Launceston College to reach their full potential. It was genuinely inspiring.”

The inaugural event built on the successes of past awards evenings but added a new dimension. Outstanding individuals from a wide range of fields gave their name to individual awards and six attended the evening. Dr Steve Wharton, Routes into Languages South West Co-director, University of Bath and pictured above, gave the key address and was hugely impressed with the College. He had earlier run a languages workshop with our A Level students. Dr Rosalind Leveridge, Routes into Languages Coordinator at Exeter University and also pictured above said “as soon as I walked through the door of the College I felt that there was a happiness, togetherness and pride coming from both students and staff”.

Ashley Shopland, former College student and Imerys director, presented the Science award and encouraged students to believe they can be successful, make a career and do this in Cornwall. Dr Ted Graham and Nigel Kingcome, from Plymouth and Falmouth Universities respectively, presented their awards for maths and English. Professor Colin Webb, governor at the College, was overjoyed to be presenting awards to students who he was sure would be in the papers, on the news or in scientific journals in the future.

A full list of the awards winners can be seen below and will soon be etched in the College’s history on the honours boards now adorning the College hall.

Award Winner
The Sir Kenneth Grange Award for Design Technology Ben Kew
The Resilience Award for Design Technology Emma Platt
The Arvon Award for English Rebecca Petersen
The Falmouth School of Writing and Journalism Award for English Jess Soddy
The Prof. Grenville Davey Award for Expressive Arts Emma Barnes
The Dr. Mark Bawden Award for Expressive Arts Tom Sharman
The Commitment to Learning Award for Humanities Miriam Christine
The Outstanding Achievement Award for Humanities Sophie Vanstone
The Dr. Ted Graham Award for Mathematics Philip Baker
The Prof. Dame Celia Hoyles Award for Mathematics Courtney Kingdon
The Dr Steve Wharton Award for Modern Foreign Languages Jessica Daw
The Dr Rosalind Leveridge Award for Modern Foreign Languages Gabriella Asman
The Prof. Colin Webb Award for Science Sam Harrison
The Imerys Award for Science John Hopper
The Edge Foundation Award for Vocational Jack Pannell
The Enterprise Award for Vocational Tom Boundy
The Leo Houlding Award for Adventure Learning Max Harmer
The Governors’ Award for College Achievement George Bearns
The Principal’s Award for College Attainment James Bate


Download the Awards Evening 2014 Programme Download the Awards Evening 2014 Programme